Deadly messengers by Susan May.

Stars: 4

Recommended? Yes.

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. It doesn’t change my opinion in any way.

Warning: This review contains spoilers.

This book is perfect for fans of Stephen King. It’s been a while since I’ve read thrillers. But, let me tell you, that I enjoyed this book very much. I loved the story, and the awareness it creates among society. But, more than the story, I loved the way it was written. I could form clear and perfect pictures in my mind as I was reading it. It was as if I was there, watching it all happen. And that, I think, is the mark of a very good book.

The people are perplexed, as a random guy walks into a café on a seemingly normal day, and sets about killing people in a gruesome way. His friends and family all claim that he is a very kind person and would never do such a thing. This sets in motion a chain of events that continue to baffle the city. Seemingly normal people who live normal lives-as normal as you and I- are suddenly shooting people out of the blue.

A freelance journalist, Kendall Jennings, and the two detectives assigned to these mass murders, set out to investigate what could be causing such a turn of events. It all leads back to a mass killing that happened 23 years ago, where a lot of innocent people were killed, including a 16 year old boy of a Mr. Doug.

Doug thinks that anti-depressants are causing violent tendencies in people but the government is not making this information public. He conducts a very thorough research, and comes up with this conclusion, but nobody wants to hear him out. So he decides to take matters into his own hands. He finds a very dangerous drug that makes people do anything he asks them to. And that’s how he made people kill, normal people who wouldn’t even dream of doing such a thing.

The title of the book is so apt. Doug wants to send a message to the world about the dangerous effects of these FDA approved drugs. Since nobody would listen to him, he decides to do it by creating mass murders. And the people who are doing the killing are the messengers, the deadly messengers.

If you are a Stephen King fan, or love thrillers of any sort, you will definitely love this book. I suggest you give it a try.

-The Girl Lost In The Bookstore

26 thoughts on “Deadly messengers by Susan May.

  1. Maybe I could do a review just like you 🙂
    With all the Sherlock and Alfred Hitchcock books I have read and all the tv shows and movies I have seen I think this book will be right up my alley.I know like more than 100 people in my school who would be interested in reading this book if it’s as good as you say it is.
    I’d really be glad if you could contact Susan on goodreads and ask her if she could send me a copy of the book.
    With my exams ending on Monday I’ll finish it quite quickly and also give an honest review on amazon and on my blog as well 😀
    Thanks in advance 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey, thank you so much. She has left her e-mail ID on the comments section, you could contact her directly. She would be glad to hear from you. Tell your friends as well to contact her, if they’re interested in doing a review. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Annnd it has been added to my Reading-List 🙂 Stephen King was my first literary love (since age 8) so anything that remotely reminds me of his twisted and masterful storytelling is a must-read 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s